Header Ads Widget



Ruto's Camp takes majority Leadership seats in Race for the new Council of Governors


The two camps competing for the top leadership position in the Council of Governors—William Ruto's Kenya Kwanza and Raila Odinga's Azimio La Umoja One Kenya Alliance—put on a show of strength.

According to the COG Secretariat, the 47 governors unanimously decided on the new leadership.

10 of the 18 leadership positions were won by Kenya Kwanza, 7 by Azimio La Umoja One Kenya Alliance, and 1 by an independent governor.

Kenya Kwanza was successful in winning two of the three highly coveted positions of COG chair, vice-chair, and whip.

Speaker of the National Assembly Moses Wetang'ula, who represented President William Ruto, attended a ceremony on Saturday afternoon where the new leaders were introduced.

UDA members and the governors of Kirinyaga, Anne Waiguru, and Stephen Sang of Nandi took home the chairperson and whip positions, respectively.

In the contest for the position of council chair, Waiguru defeated Kajiado Governor Joseph Ole Lenku. The ODM hierarchy had supported Lenku.

The ODM party was aided in obtaining the vice-chair position by Ahmed Abdullahi, the governor of Wajir.

Currently, Waiguru is the chairperson of the 26 newly elected governors, 11 serving their second terms, and 26 governors who are serving their first terms, in addition to the eight forerunner governors who were reelected after a five-year absence.

Among other hotly contested positions.

Anyang Nyong'o (ODM) of Kisumu will oversee the Lands committee, and Fernandes Barasa (ODM), the governor of Kakamega, will chair the Finance committee.

The Trade committee will be overseen by the governor of Machakos, Wavinya Ndeti (Wiper), and the Legal and Constitutional Affairs committee will be led by Mutula Kilonzo (Wiper) of Makueni.

Wilber Ottichilo (ODM) of Vihiga will preside over the Environment committee while Nathif Jama (Wiper) of Garissa chairs the Arid and Semi-Arid Lands committee.

The committee for security and foreign affairs will be overseen by Dhadho Godana (ODM) of Tana River.

Independent Taita Taveta Governor Andrew Mwadime was selected to serve as the committee for water, forestry, and natural resources' chair.

The committees on health, agriculture, and education will be respectively led by Governors Dr. Erick Mutai (UDA) of Kericho, Governor Muthomi Njuki (UDA) of Tharaka Nithi, and Governors Kenneth Lusaka (Ford Kenya) of Bungoma.

Nairobi Governor Johnson Sakaja (UDA) will be in charge of the Human Resources committee, West Pokot's Simon Kachapin (UDA) will be in charge of the Gender committee, and Lamu's Issa Timamy will be in charge of the Blue Economy committee (ANC).

Embu Governor Cecily Mbarire will chair the Resource Mobilization Committee, while Kimani Wamatangi (UDA) of Kiambu will serve as the chairman of the Roads, Transport, and Energy Committee (UDA).

Patrick Ole Ntutu of Narok (UDA), the chair of the committee for tourism and wildlife, and Wesley Rotich of Elgeyo Marakwet (UDA) will oversee ICT.